We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – Self-titled debut album from The Meltdown

The Meltdown’s debut self-titled debut album is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week. 

The Meltdown, Melbourne’s purveyors of the finest country soul, are delighted to announce the release of their self-titled debut album on 7th April, 2017 through HopeStreet Recordings. Blending country, gospel and 60s soul, the result is a unique take on Australian soul music and a record full of life, energy and deeply felt storytelling.

With influences ranging from Father John Misty, Tedeschi Trucks Band and Alabama Shakes built above a steady foundation of southern soul music, this collection of stellar players have created a mesh of Stax and Motown with a healthy dose of the Nashville songwriting tradition. Making the song the focus, The Meltdown stay true to the common goal of the story and keep your attention on the honey soaked tones of Simon Burke’s incredible voice.

After the success of the first two singles, ‘Colours In The Sky’ and ‘Don’t Hesitate’ and the crackin’ debut of the new single, ‘Darkness Into Light’ the debut album is now highly anticipated. Since the release of the 2015 EP, ‘Better Days’, the band have been honing their songs and sound on the Australian festival circuit, with appearances at Queenscliff Music Festival, Mullum Music festival, Caloundra Music Festival, AWME and Summer of Soul. They have clocked hundreds of thousands of streaming hits worldwide and are featured in the soundtrack of US cable show Rosewood.


Track Listing:

1. Darkness Into Light

2.Crooked Country

3.Secret Life

4.Forever And Always

5.Don’t Hesitate

6.How Funny Is Another Man’s Pain

7.Better Days

8.Slow Fever

9.The Other Side

10.Colours In The Sky


Artist Listing:

Simon Burke – Vocals/Keyboard || Lachlan Mclean – Sax

Eamon Mcnellis – Tumpet || Anton Dellecca – Sax || Hugh Harvey – Drums

Mick Meagher – Bass || Tom Martin – Guitar || Chantal Mitvalsky – BVs Hailey Cramer – BVs

Artwork by Michael Vale
Design by Lee Porter
Produced by Simon Burke, Lachlan McLean & Bob Knob
Recorded & mixed by Bob Knob
Mastered by Lachlan Carrick

You can follow The Meltdown HERE . For an extended listen to the album, tune in on Thursday from 1.30PM – 2PM for ‘Album of the Week’ with Josh Crosbie. Don’t forget to also listen out for your opportunity to win a copy of ‘The Meltdown’ all week. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up HERE. You can also stream the station HERE.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!