We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week

by reception
posted 28/11/2016

Album of the Week – ‘New Balloon’ by Matilda Abraham


‘New Balloon’ by Matilda Abraham is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week. With her brand new album released this October, Abraham invites us to follow her into a warm, honest and unique universe created amidst a mix of  the synthetic sounds and the sweet voice of a folk singer. The Sydney based singer began developing her music career in the jazz tradition that shifted gears when she feel in love with the lyricism of folk music that inspired a long-held obsession with songwriting. With contemporary music draws on both acoustic and electronic elements, Abraham manages to build something which isn’t traditional folk but more on the folk revivalist approach as music written for and by the people.

She performs her originial music both solo and in various lineups that include laptop, guitar, piano, synth, drums, and bass. From feminist dance numbers to intricate and layered arrangements, the stark vulnerability and warmth running through each songs is the element that makes Abraham’s music unique to her. On the eight tracks album, she explores and represents perfectly her fragile and sincere artistry, from the melancholic ballad ‘Lemon Suns’ to the more energetic and electronic single ‘New Balloon’.

Described by Mike Rivett as a “strong vocalist with a good sense of pitch, possessing a captivating vulnerability reminiscent of John Coltrane”, Matilda Abraham is already recognised as an emerging talent by well established musicians. Indeed, earlier this year, she joined the famous Canadian pianist and producer Chilly Gonzales on scene as a part of his musical experience called Gonzervatory for an acclaimed performance.

This album will certainly delight a large rang of people, from the lover of folk ballads to the indie fan with its electronic sounds. What is sure is that Matilda Abraham is a talent to follow, and she offers us a wonderful first album that can only pave the way for a great career ahead.

Track Listing:

1. Lemon Suns

2. Give into Your Heart

3. Theme

4. Low & Longing Moon

5. New Balloon

6. Hidden Treasure

7. Isn’t There a Way

8. It’s Over

Artist Listing:

Matilda Abraham – singing, songs, production, mixing, piano, keyboards, bass guitar & extra percussion

Carl Morgan – guitar, co-production & mixing, hihat and synth bass on track 5

Ben Vanderwal – drums

Katherine Moses – cello

Alex Boneham – double bass

Trevor Mee – violin

Recorded mostly at home. Some parts recorded by Richard Belkner at Free Energy Device Studios

Mastered by Lachlan Carrick

You can follow Matilda Abraham’s career at matildaabraham.com via her FACEBOOK page. For an extended listen to the album, tune in on Thursday from 1.30PM – 2PM for ‘Album of the Week’ with Josh Crosbie. Don’t forget to also listen out for your opportunity to win a copy of ‘New Balloon’ all week. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. You can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!