We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy


by Paola Micieli
posted 01/08/2018

The Necks New Album “Body” Released on the 14th of August 2018

Revered instrumental trio The Necks are unparalleled when it comes to rhythmic complexity, but they have put much of that to one side on BODY, their 20th release, conjuring their most relentlessly driving album since Hanging Gardens (1999).

In contrast to The Necks’ customary evolving ribbon of sound, BODY is episodic in nature, comprising four contrasting sections that cross multiple sonic terrains over the album’s 57 minute trajectory. The first episode is propelled by Tony Buck’s shimmering cymbal rhythm, Chris Abraham’s deep oscillating piano motif with washes of Hammond organ, and a thrumming heartbeat from Lloyd Swanton on acoustic bass. A buoyant sense of space expands in the second episode, with Tony Buck adding acoustic guitar to the palette.

In the third section The Necks suddenly kick up into a sustained, driving juggernaut of layered guitar, drums, piano, keyboard and bass – The Necks are rocking out! In the final section, the listener emerges from the hypnotic maelstrom to the tinkling of bells, and sporadic collapses of sounds like waves on the shores of another planet.

Unlike the sustained improvisations that are their live performances, The Necks’ studio albums take shape by way of intricate crafting throughout the entire recording and mixing process. The Necks have brought BODY to life with engineer Tim Whitten, who has recorded and/or mixed the last twelve Necks albums.

According to the band’s bassist Lloyd Swanton, “Most times we record an album, we sit down on the first day and simply ask ourselves ‘what do we want to do?’ What takes shape over the ensuing weeks and months is our answer to that question over that particular period in time. In this case, we thought it would be interesting to construct a piece distinguished by clearly delineated sections. We think it makes for a really different Necks listen.”


BODY will be released (CD and digital) on 14th August 2018 in Australia and New Zealand by Fish of Milk through Rocket, and on ReR Megacorp in Europe and Japan. In North America it will be available digitally on 14 August from Northern Spy Records, with the CD released on 21st September. BODY follows their acclaimed 2017 album Unfold, described by Rolling Stone as “one of the top 20 Avant albums of 2017”. The Necks will tour Australia in early 2019.



About The Necks
Formed in 1987, The Necks are one of the great cult bands of Australia. Chris Abrahams (piano), Tony Buck (drums), and Lloyd Swanton (bass) conjure a chemistry together that defies description in orthodox terms.

Featuring lengthy pieces which slowly unravel in the most mesmerising fashion, frequently underpinned by an insistent deep groove, the twenty albums by The Necks stand up to re-listening time and time again. The deceptive simplicity of their music throws forth new charms on each hearing. Not entirely avant-garde, nor minimalist, nor ambient, nor jazz, the music of The Necks is unique in the world today.


What: The Necks New Album “Body” 

When: 14 August, 2018

To find out more visit The Necks Website


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!