We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week: June 14 – June 21

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week is Milyakburra by Emily Wurramara on the Wantok Music label.

Debut album by celebrated young artist from Groote Eylandt. This album charts a personal history as well as a continuing celebration of family, culture and the land.

“The songs on this album have been written over time. ‘Tapsticks’ was my second song to ever be written on guitar. I was 12 years old when I wrote it. These songs have grown out of my own experiences, the stories and dreams I’ve been told from the people I love and of course my love for our Earth and all the mystery and mystical beings she holds. During my career so far as a songwriter and as a musician I have met so many wonderful, kind and beautiful human beings along the way that have kept faith in my stories and my music. I am forever grateful for their friendship, advice and love. I’ve come across diversity. I’ve come across pain. I’ve come across freedom. I’ve come across the unknown, but music has always been my drive and passion for life. It has allowed me to discover my love for my people, for my culture, and a responsibility to archive my language and my stories through the universal language of music.” Emily Wurramara

Artist: Emily Wurramara

Title: Milyakburra

1.Lady Blue



4.Carry Me Home

5.Black Smoke


7.Hey Love

8.Tap Sticks

9.Yimenda-Papaguneray (Turtle Song)

10.Blue Moon Black Sea

11.Black Boy


Emily Wurramara, vocals, guitar, piano

Saraima Navara, backing vocals

Alice Skye, backing vocals, piano

Uncle Enoch Wurramara, vocals on Tapsticks

Milyakburra children’s chorus on Milyakburra

Benny Walker, guitar

Michael Jude (Sunjay), keys

Guy Drory, drums, cajoun

David Bridie, piano, melodica, keys

Amy Chapman, bass

Greg Sheehan, percussion

Helen Mountfort, cello

Yarum Sandy, didj and tapsticks

Rohan Jones, acoustic guitar on Hey Love

Phil Wales, guitar

All songs written by Emily Wurramara (Mushroom Music Publishing) except for Black Boy (Bunna Lawrie).

Produced by David Bridie with Nao Anzai

Recorded at Torurua Studios by Nao Anzai and at PSI-FI Studios (Brisbane) by Chris Neehause.

Milyakburra Children and Uncle Enoch recorded on Groote Eylandt.

“Black Boy” mixed by Chris Neehause.

Mastered by Nao Anzai

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!