We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week

by reception
posted 19/07/2018

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week: Jul 19 – Jul 26

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week is Unstoppable by Candi Staton on┬áBeracah Records.

Unstoppable is both a celebration of Staton’s legacy and a bold step forward, with a sound that’s funky and contemporary, but still steeped in the Southern soul and blues of her Alabama roots. Featuring an ace rhythm section made up of Staton’s sons, bassist Marcel Williams and drummer Marcus Williams (Isaac Hayes, Pointer Sisters), the album reunites the singer with producer Mark Nevers (Lambchop), who helmed His Hands (2006) and Who’s Hurting Now (2009), the critically acclaimed albums for London label Honest Jon’s that reestablished Staton as a force to be reckoned with. But where those albums showcased Staton’s skills as an interpreter of bluesy ballads, Unstoppable which Marcus Williams co-produced with Nevers is a more celebratory, uptempo set. ‘It’s my kind of music,’ she says proudly. ‘It’s more of a happy record, a dancing record.’

Artist: Candi Staton

Title: Unstoppable

1. Unstoppable

2. I Fooled You, Didn’t I?

3. Love is You

4. It Ain’t Over

5. People Have the Power

6. Revolution of Change

7. Stand Up

8. (Whats so Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding

9. The Prize is Not Worth the Pain

10. Can I Change My Mind


Marcus Williams – Drums

Marcel Williams – Bass

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!