We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week: Jan 31 – Feb 7

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week is Poison Fruit by Ivan ‘Mamão’ Conti on the label Far Out Recordings.

From an artist in their seventies, you probably wouldn’t expect to hear an album like this. But Brazilian drumming legend Ivan ‘Mamão’ Conti has been experimenting and innovating for the last half a century. As one third of cult Rio jazz-funk trio Azymuth, Mamão was at the root of the group’s ‘samba doido’ (crazy samba) philosophy, which warped the traditional samba compass with jazz influences and space age electronics. Even with his lesser known jovem guarda group The Youngsters, Mamão was experimenting with tapes and delays to create unique, ahead-of-its-time sounds, way back in the sixties. More recently Mamão recorded an album with hip-hop royalty Madlib under the shared moniker ‘Jackson Conti’.

With his first album in over twenty years, and the first to be released on vinyl since his 1984 classic The Human Factor, Mamão shares his zany carioca character across eleven tracks of rootsy electronic samba and tripped out jazz, beats and dance music. Featuring Alex Malheiros and Kiko Continentino on a number of tracks, the Azymuth lifeblood runs deep, but venturing into the modern discotheque (as Mamão would call it), Poison Fruit also experiments with sounds more commonly associated with house and techno, with the help of London based producer Daniel Maunick (aka Dokta Venom) and Mamão’s son Thiago Maranhão.

Artist: ‘Ivan Mamão’ Conti

Title: Poison Fruit






6.Ilha Da Luz*

7.O Ritual

8.Poison Fruit*

9.Que Legal*

10.Ecos Da Mata*


12.Ilha Da Luz (aka ‘Mamão’s Brake) (Tenderlonious Remix)

13.Encontro (aka Azul) (Glenn Astro Remix)

14.Que Legal (Reginald Omas Mamode IV Remix)

15.Encontro (aka Azul) (Max Graef Remix)

16.Poison Fruit (Dokta Venom’s Digital Dub Mix)

*Tracks on Vinyl LP


Ivan Conti, drums, vocals, percussion, synth, writer

Alex Malheiros, bass (tracks 1,2,13,15)

Fernando Moraes, keyboards, synth (tracks 1,3,5,13,15)

Daniel Maunick, synth, keyboards, percussion, electronic drums (all tracks except 1,4,11)

Thiago Martins, bass, vocals, guitar (tracks 5,9,14)

Sérgio Souza, writer (track 5)

Tenderlonious, remix (track 12)

Glenn Astro, remix (track 13)

Reginal Omas Mamode IV, remix (track 14)

Kiko Continentino, vocoder, synth (track 14)

Max Graef, remix (track 15)

Producer: Daniel Maunick

Co-producer: Ivan Conti

Executive Producer: Joe Davis

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!