We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week

by reception
posted 08/08/2019

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week: Aug 8 – Aug 14

Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week is Leylines by Rising Appalachia as an independent release.

Leylines, the band’s seventh studio album,was produced by Joe Henry-the title alluding to the concept of invisible lines believed to stretch around the world between sacred spaces, bonded by a spiritual and magnetic presence. That deep sense of connection is key to understanding Rising Appalachia as a whole.

For the ten-day recording session in Marin County, CA, Rising Appalachia called on legendary producer Joe Henry, along with longtime band members David Brown(stand-up bass, baritone guitar) and Biko Casini (world percussion, n’goni) and two new members, West African musician Arouna Diarra (n’goni, talking drum) and Irish musician Duncan Wickel (fiddle, cello) to bring new life to the band’s blend of world music laced with their own southern roots, creating an inviting folk album. Although Leah and Chloe Smith consider their voices to be their primary instrument, Leah also plays banjo and bodhran on the album, while Chloe plays guitar, fiddle, and banjo. Special guests on Leylines include folk hero Ani DiFranco, soulful songwriter Trevor Hall, and jazz trumpeter Maurice Turner.

Artist: Rising Appalachia

Title: Leylines

1. I Believe in Being Ready
2. Harmonize
3. Speak Out (feat. Ani Difranco)
4. Love Her in the Mornin’
5. Shed Your Grace
6. Sadjuna
7. Make Magic
8. Sassafras
9. Sunny Days
10. Cuckoo
11. Indigo Dance (feat. Maurice Turner)
12. Resilient (Full Band)


‘Leylines’ features appearances by:

Ani Difranco

Maurice Turner

Trevor Hall

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!