We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week

by reception
posted 26/09/2016

Album of the week – Family Tree by Kylie Auldist



‘Family Tree’ by Kylie Audits is Eastside Radio’s album of the week.

If you like it funky then you are going to be blasting this record, coming out of Melbourne Kylie Auldist is up there with the creme de la creme when it comes Australian soul and funk artists. With a career that has jumped leaps and bounds in recent years and having just got back from touring the U.K this latest release is bursting with energetic vibes that let’s us hear the sound Auldist has set her mark for.

The album was released here in Australia on the 5th of August. With Auldist’s voice gaining lots of ground in the U.K and Europe  as a track she does the vocals on “This Girl” by Kungs VS Cookin on 3 Burners being the hit that spread her out to whole new fanbase internationally the album got an earlier release in Europe on 29th of July with fans and new listeners swallowing it up.

Not only is Kylie Auldist the lead vocalist of Cookin on 3 burners but she is always the prominent voice with The Bamboos who you may have heard here before on Eastside. Both two funky groovy groups from Melbourne who are mixing it up with their own unique twist when it comes to funk and soul. Given that I wouldn’t be surprised if you recognised Kylie’s unmistakabble voice when you hear it, however not like her previous solo album’s were Auldist has gone down her usual route of funk and soul, this time on ‘Family Tree’ she has gone and given us a fresh burst of late 70’s early 80’s disco vibes. Don’t get me wrong there is still some powerful soul sounding vocals throughout but in comparison to her previous work we definitely get a lot more groove in this latest release.

It may have been the European Summer smash hit ‘This Girl’ that has given Kylie the urge to give us a boogie album as the chart topping song is filling dance floors all over the world. Being no.2 in the UK single charts and no.9 on the International iTunes Charts it is obvious that people like her unique voice on a disco track. What better then to give the world a whole album full of disco era rhythms with some feel good soul vocals.

For the lyrics of Kylie’s fourth album we are really given a record that takes a look at her career and praises her position, by thanking those around her hence the title of the album. The use of the up-tempo, electro-funk beats is a perfect uplifting genre to use to back up the vocals as it just gives it that extra punch of celebration. If you are looking for tracks that are nice and fast the the likes of ‘Saturday Night’, ‘Good Time Girl’ and ‘Sensational’ will have you dancing the night away, all you will want is a mirror ball and some flairs and you will be transported back in time. Then tracks that take it down a notch but still remain with that retro pop vibe would be ‘Waste of Time’ and ‘Look Away’ but saying that they still carry lots of funk. After you listen to this album even after a selection of the 11 powerful tracks you will want to experience it live just to see how much more energetic it can get. With dancing shoes advised you can check out Kylie Auldist very soon as she will be taking to the Beresford Hotel in Surry Hills on Thursday the 13th of October and thats sure to be one vibrant loud gig for more information on that head on over to tickets.oztix.com.au.


Track Listing

  1. 01  Sensational
  2. 02  Family Tree
  3. 03  Too Easy
  4. 04  Saturday Night
  5. 05  No Change
  6. 06  Warming Up The Sun
  7. 07  Waste Of Time
  8. 08  Good Time Girl
  9. 09  Look Away
  10. 10  Rewards
  11. 11  Super Lucky

You can follow Kylie Auldist’s career at kylieauldist.com via her FACEBOOK page. For an extended listen to the album, tune in on Thursday from 1.30PM – 2PM for ‘Album of the Week’ with Josh Crosbie. Don’t forget to also listen out for your opportunity to win a copy of ‘In My Room’ all week. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. You can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!