We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Eclecticism’ by Pete Di Losa

‘Eclecticism’ by Pete Di Losa is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week. 

This light hearted and fun loving Australian production pays homage to the soundscapes that have inspired the artist’s enduring professional career. Set agains the backdrop of a swinging big band, Di Losa effortlessly moves between Ballads, to Sambas, straight Jazz to and Blues. 15 tracks gives the principle trumpeter a lot of space to create as well as discuss his affinity with music that started at just the tender age of nine in his school brass band. This early interaction with the instrument hasn’t stopped inspiring him since. Having studied under greatest such as Harry Berry, played with James Morrison, Shirley Bassey, Liza Minelli, and Sami Davis Jnr, as well as developed his performing skills across a variety of spaces from commissioned works for ABC National Radio, competitions and television, Di Losa knows how to produce a tight body of work.

Each track is bursting with luscious instrumentation that first and foremost highlights the artist’s talents, but also pays special attention to celebrate the artists he has surrounded himself with, long time friends. To break up the instrumental focus comes embellishments from vocalist Khristina Joy. She shares her talents across four tracks, or which stand outs are certainly ‘Lover Man’ and ‘This Bitter Earth’. Both in particular showcase the intricate interplay between lead instruments such as the trumpet and voice beautifully balanced. These classics as well as tracks like ‘One Note Samba’ and ‘You Are So Beautiful’ are the standards treated to a signature Di Losa rearrangement that lay scattered amongst many an original track. This approach offers listeners the chance to understand both the history and the lessons learnt from decades spent learning from and love the greats.

Track Listing:


Samba Del Sol

My Romance

Lover Man (Featuring Khristina Joy)

That You My Basie

One Note Samba

I Cried For You Featuring Khristina Joy)

Cop It Sweet

My City of Sydney

Sometimes I’m Happy (Featuring Khristina Joy)


You Are So Beautiful

Where or When

This Bitter Earth (Featuring Khristina Joy)

Zat Auld Rock Und Roll

You can follow Pete Di Losa’s news HERE . For an extended listen to the album, tune in on Thursday from 1.30PM – 2PM for ‘Album of the Week’ with Josh Crosbie. Don’t forget to also listen out for your opportunity to win a copy of ‘Eclecticism’ all week. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up HERE. You can also stream the station HERE.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!