We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Mutiny Music’ by Baecastuff


Mutiny Music‘ by Baecastuff is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

The album orchestrates the English concurring of the Pitcairn Isle in 1789. The saga was violent, tumultuous and extremely scaring on the tight-nit community of Tahiti of which Baecastuff sensitively utilise in order to vividly recreate the terror of the attack. The track listing chronologically moves through the unfolding events from the first landing featuring the bloody fighting, pillaging and ransacking of the community, to the aftereffects of the incident that left many dead, yet somehow spawned a rebuilding of a community full of hope and prosperity that looking towards the future.  The compositions utilise a vast array of inspirational material from images recreating these scenes (above), to artefacts and even archived audio of conversations amongst locals to add to the work’s authenticity.

A great example of this is ‘Dem Da Mus Gwen It Et‘ in which composer, bandleader, and saxophonist Rick Robertson samples and manipulates the dialogue of a Norfolk local discussing the failed resettlement of stolen Pitcairn community members, as a core inspiration for both the rhythmic and melodic phrasing. As the piece continues, the group elegantly amalgamate the traditions of the Jazz discipline featuring the talents of trumpeter Phil Slater improving a fantastic solo, with the tribal remanence of the village locked within the drumming of Spanish-Moroccan artist Aykho AkhriffHymn ‘Ship of Fame‘ in particular is a stand out piece from the album. The track represents quite a stilling moment in the body of work, coming towards the close of this enduring ordeal, stoically chanting the hopeful prays of the Pitcairn community setting sail for a new home in 1856, aboard HMS Morayshire. The piece opens with a heartfelt rendition of the hymn’s head by pianist Matt McMahon, repeated, each time gaining musical voices by harmonically layering each instrument with organ, on top of saxophone, on top of drum roll, on top of trumpet, symbolising the choir of voices contributing to the chanting of prayer onboard.

It is encouraged that you visit the album’s website for a full description of the events discussed throughout the release, as well as a detailed track-by-track guide of the moments each composition deals with.

Artist Listing:

Rick Robertson – Soprano and Tenor Saxophone

Phil Slater – Trumpet

Matt McMahon – Piano, Fender Rhodes Piano, Hammond Organ

Alexander Hewetson – Acoustic and Fender Bass

Simon Barker – Drums and Log Drums

Track Listing:

1. The Mutiny – Composed by Rick Robertson

2. Return to Tahiti– Composed by Simon Barker, Horn Arrangement – Phil Slater

3. Search for Sanctuary– Traditional arranged by Baecastuff

4. Come Ye Blessed– Traditional arranged by Baecastuff

5. Gut Evrthing Yu Want Deya – Composed by Rick Robertson – Horn Arrangement – Phil Slater

6. Hue Hue – Composed by Rick Robertson – Arranged by Baecastuff

7. Mauatua – Composed by Simon Barker

8. Gethsemane – Composed by Driver Christian and George Hunn Nobbs – Arranged by Baecastuff

9. Daun I Goa – Composed by Rick Robertson – Arranged by Baecastuff

10. Dem Da Mus Gwen It Et – Composed by Rick Robertson – Arranged by Baecastuff

11. Ship of Fame – Traditional arranged Baecastuff

12. Kingston – Composed by Rick Robertson

You can follow Baecastuff’s career via their FACEBOOK page, or at http://www.mutinymusic.org. Be sure to tune in this week to 89.7FM EASTSIDE RADIO for your chance to WIN a copy of ‘Mutiny Music’ by BaecastuffYou must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!