We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Garfish Volume 1’ By Garfish (O’Town Records and Earshift Music)

‘Garfish Volume 1’ (O’Town Records and Earshift Music) by Garfish is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

The album, held together by original compositions from trumpet organ and keyboard player Nick Garbett amalgamates the signature soundscapes of Jamaican roots and jazz stylings. Garbett along with his outstanding assembly of musicians explores a myriad of influential artists sounds from Tommy McCook to Sly Robbie and The Skatalites.  The album cruses from track to track creating a hypnotic 11 tracks slowjam experience. Jelling the entire album is it’s hardworking engine room a.k.a Paulie Bromley on Bass, Declan Kelly on Drums and Percussion and Carlos Adura on Percussion. The groove of the album  Stand out tracks include ‘Matty Meets the Mouse’ (track 8), featuring an extended jarring distorted and reverb filled solo from guitarist Matt Smith. Along a similar vain is Peter Farrar‘s raspy melodic feature on ‘El Ultimo Hombre’ (track 11). What really stands out is Garbett’s ability to write sympathetically toward each individual artists unique approach to his sonic vision, with each song paired with the perfect featured soloist. For the ultimate listening experience you will need to find yourself a serious subwoofer to really be able to appreciate the dedication to the groove of Jamaican rhythms this album embodies (at least put it on your bucket list). The album also features Matt Keegan and James Greening.

Track Listing:

1. Laughing Jackass and the Sunfire

2. Keegan The Pikey

3. Frigate Bird Blues

4. Declan and the Fish Hawk

5. Betta E Una Balena

6. From the Gates of Garfish

7. Lord Tanuki Himself

8. Matty Meets the Mouse

9. Boss Bone Green

10. Priority Boarding

11. El Ultimo Hombre

Artist Listing:

Nick Garbett Trumpet, Organ, Keyboards
Matt Keegan Tenor Saxophone
James Greening Trombone
Peter Farrar C Melody Saxophone (tracks 5,11)
Paulie Bromley Bass, Guitars
Declan Kelly Drums, Percussion, Guitars
Matt Smith Guitar (track 8)
Carlos Adura Percussion

Produced by Nick Garbett
Co-produced by Paulie B and Declan Kelly

Be sure to tune in this week to 89.7FM EASTSIDE RADIO for your chance to WIN a copy of ‘Garfish Volume 1’ by Garfish. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station atWWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!