We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘What Comes To Mind’ by The Haggis Horns

‘What Comes To Mind’ (Haggis Records) by The Haggis Horns is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

This UK based outfit’s third release showcases the group breaking out of the supporting role for industry legends such as Amy Winehouse, Martha Reeves and John Legend and the Roots to name a few, to make their mark with their signature brand of Afro beat, hip-hop, funk inspired jazz. From humble beginnings, the group began cutting their teeth on local gigs in Leeds as both a band and brass section in anticipation of their debut record appearance on ‘The New Mastersounds’ album in 1999. The opportunity mean their talent could no longer go unheard, attracting attention from the industry’s best including Lou Donaldson, Jamiroquai, Roos Manuva, Nightmares on Wax, Lily Allen and Mark Ronson. Fast forward to 2015, following the successful release of two albums via First Word Records (‘Hot Damn!’ 2007, ‘Keep On Movin’ 2010) and the boys decided to take total control of their careers by establishing their own label ‘Haggis Records’ and celebrate that fact by releasing an EP entitled ‘Return of The Haggis’, with ‘What Comes To Mind’ as a follow up. For a pick me up with a funk revival spirit there’s no going past ‘It Ain’t What You Got”and ‘Doin it’. For a more soulful listening experience be sure to give ‘Diggin in the Dirt’ a listen, and for the jazz heads out there there’s always ‘Return of The Haggis’ to keep everyone happy. If big brass, driving bass lines, gospel harmonies and good times are your cup of tea (and let’s face it, who could resist) the this album is unmissable!


Artist Listing:

Malcolm Strachan

Atholl Ransome

Rob Mitchell

Ben Barker

Luke Flowers

Dan Goldman

Kenny Higgins

with special guest appearances Lucinda Slim, John McCallum, John Turrell, Pete Shand and Snowboy


Track Listing:

1. Return Of The Haggis
2. Give Me Something Better (feat John McCallum)
3. It Ain’t What You Got (feat John Turrell)
4. Keep It Tight
5. Digging In The Dirt
6. I Can’t Stop The Feeling (feat Lucinda Slim)
7. Doin’ It
8. Outta My Head (feat John McCallum)
9. You’ve Got To Keep on Bumping

For more information about The Haggis Horns, head to their FACEBOOK page or artist website http://www.thehaggishorns.com/

The album will be given away throughout the week. For your chance to win, you must be a supporter so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!