We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Signals’ by Phil Turcio

‘Signals’ (Alfi Records) by Phil Turcio is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

The album breathes new life into the artists work, with a mix of old friends and a new addition to Turcio’s sound, drummer Will Kennedy. The Melbourne based pianist, composer and producer continues to enjoy a fruitful whilst seemingly flying under the radar. Artists from a plethora of genres have flocked to him over the years to work alongside his ourstanding musicianship such as Olivia Newton John, John Farnham, Westlife, Hugh Jackman, K.D. Lang, Jessica Mauboy, Guy Sebastian, Paulini, Jimmy Barnes, Vanessa Amorosi, Ric Fierabracci, Virgil Donati, Tom Brechtlein, and George Garzone. His talents also garnered Hollywood level attention after being nominated for a Grammy in 2008 for his work with his band ‘Hemispheres’ for ‘Best New Contemporary Jazz Group’. Turcio has also played pivotal composing roles within a  diverse range of projects including for the Sydney Olympics and World Youth Day 08, TV themes, as well as playing with international Jazz artists.The album showcases the diverse talents of the artist, from high energy sonic soundscapes to moody and contemporary jazz standard reinventions.  The album also features Craig Newman on Bass, Gary Meek on Saxaphone, Simon Patterson on Guitar, Ric Fierabracci on Bass, and Dave Weckl on drums.


Phil Turcio on ‘Signals’ (Afi Records):

“When I found out that drummer Will Kennedy was coming to Australia to do workshops, I immediately contacted him to record several tracks for my album Signals. A few months later I was playing sessions on a brief trip to LA, and had the privilege of recording with drumming great, Dave Weckl. I had been doing sessions with Dave at his studio, and was so impressed by his mixes, that I asked him to mix the Signals album. At the same time, I took the opportunity to feature him on the track, ‘Am I Awake.’ On the same trip I met and recorded with Gary Meek, who provides all the sax work on the album. Two of my dearest friends, LA bass great Ric Fierbracci, and local Australian session king, Craig Newman, were both kind enough to provide bass work for the album. I’m so excited to be re-releasing Signals through ALFI RECORDS. This will only be the beginning of what I expect to be a long and creative collaboration.”

Track Listing:

1. Beyond Control 5:05

2. Lost 5:35

3. Miracles 5:58

4. Signals 7:38

5. Am I Awake 9:47

6. Solitude 5:18

7. Mystical Mojo 7:14

Artist Listing:

Phil Turcio on Piano

Will Kennedy on Drums

Craig Newman on Bass

Gary Meek on Saxaphone

Simon Patterson on Guitar

Ric Fier-a-bracci on Bass

Dave Weckl Drums


You can follow Phil Turcio via his FACEBOOK page, or at http://alfirecords.com/our_artists/phil-turcio. Be sure to tune in this week to 89.7FM EASTSIDE RADIO for your chance to WIN a copy of ‘Signals’ by Phil Turcio. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.



Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!