We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Only Human’ by Albare

‘Only Human’ (Alfi Records) by Albare is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

The guitar virtuoso takes his lifelong nomadic experiences as inspiration for a body of work that celebrates our uniting and enduring humanity. The Moroccan born expat continues to foster a successful career dedicated to celebrating and developing the Australian jazz music scene, having been the director of the Melbourne Jazz Festival for multiple years, chairman of the Australian Jazz Awards and rewarded for his efforts in ’08 with an Order of Australia. Now residing in Melbourne, the artist digresses from the many early years of his musical career composing and performing ‘acid jazz’ to a more refined yet internationally inspired sound with ‘Only Human’ (Alfi Records). The release showcases the many colliding cultural influences within and throughout Albare’s career with a highly precise and delicate attention to detail. The danger of course when attempting to present compositions which often amalgamate many varying genre’s such as world, Latin, funk, folkloric and jazz is sometimes a wash of sound, unorganised and dissonantly competitive towards one another, yet this release circumnavigates these torturers waters through Albare’s experience and passion for showing each of these elements off in their most beautiful and vibrant lights. The album features Albare on guitar, Pablo Bencid on drums, Yunior Terry on acoustic bass, and Axel Tosca Laugart on piano.

Albare on ‘Only Human’:

“Only Human is a visual and audio testament to the common human elements that binds us together, not the differences that pulls us apart. The soothing, grooving tracks on this collection of music are a reminder that we as people of the human race, should stop………. exhale, and acknowledge we have more in common, than we have differences. That in fact we are “ONLY HUMAN.”



Artist Listing:
Axel Tosca Laugart-Piano
Yunior Terry-Bass
Pablo Bencid-Drums
Track Listing:
1. Nightly News 5:29
2. Only Human 5:11
3. Hotel Royal 5:11
4. Lonely Planet 4:58
5. Royal Beach 6:10
6. Round Trip 6:35
7. FunkChue 5:01
8. The Tale 5:53
9. Gravitational Pull 4:56
10. How Two Live 6:10

You can follow Albare via his FACEBOOK page, or at http://www.albare.info. Be sure to tune in this week to 89.7FM EASTSIDE RADIO for your chance to WIN a copy of ‘Only Human’ by Albare. You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!