We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Dirty Soul’ by Ms Murphy

‘Dirty Soul’ (Universal Music Australia) by Ms Murphy is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

From team Ricky Martin on The Voice 2013 to the stages of Sydney’s inaugural ‘SoulFest‘, Ms Murphy’s career has gone from strength to strength in such a short time not only celebrating her immense talent but also becoming a vital component of Soul’s revival within Australia. During the first year following her television appearance capturing our hearts one live show at a time, the artist took the time to develop and grow her talents in various ways including being on the road as a member of her team captain’s national tour, to releasing her debut EP ‘White Dress and the Spirit‘ (Mercury Records/ Universal Music Australia) and subsequently touring the album across the East-Coast to sold out venues and finally landing a spot on Australia’s 2014 inaugural SoulFest lineup.

The stage being where Murphy truly shines is something the artist was quick to recognise within herself and also a theme she took to her debut album, subtitled ‘Live at Rec Studio’s‘. The artist spoke more to this technical decision in saying that, “I find it very comforting when I’m on stage and performing live. We wanted to bring that dynamic to the studio and we wanted to share the with everyone.”  The body of work serves as a review of much of Souls defining tracks from the 50s, 60s and 70s, with other hits getting a soulful treatment and two other originals in particular that were gifted to Murphy from none other than Australian music legend Paul Kelly.

As the story goes, Kelly was mesmerised by Murphy’s sultry vocals one day driving down a dusty road so much so that he tracked her down shortly after and offered her two of his originals. One in particular ‘Sure Got Me’, made famous on his 2004 release ‘Ways & Means‘ (EMI/ Cooking Vinyl), really stuck Kelly after hearing Murphy reimagine his writings saying that, “I like it when my songs get taken and transformed into something else, and something that I couldn’t sort of reach myself. My recording of ‘Sure Got Me’ was an attempt, … and her’s is more a success, so…. thanks Ms Murphy!” The supporting cast of the album features Jessica Davidson, Tabitha Ojeah, Darryl Beaton, Adam Venture, Yanya Boston, Daniel March, James Mackay, Brendan Champion and Dane Laboyrie.



Artist Listing:

Ms Murphy

Jessica Davidson

Tabitha Ojeah

Darryl Beaton

Adam Venture

Yanya Boston

Daniel March

James Mackay

Brendan Champion

Dane Laboyrie

Track Listing:

1. Jumpin’ Jack Flash

2. Shake

3. Ninety Nine and a Half Won’t Do

4. It’s Your Thing

5. Rising Moon

6. When A Man Loves a Woman

7. Heat Wave

8. Give Me Shelter

9. Express yourself

10. Sure Got Me

11. Needle In A Haystack

12. I Just Want To Celebrate

For more information about Ms Murphy, head to her FACEBOOK page or artist websitewww.msmurphy.com.au/.

The album will be given away throughout the week. For your chance to win, you must be a supporter so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG


cover170x170 (2)

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!