We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – ‘Cognition’ by John Harkins

‘Cognition’ by John Harkins is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

The US born ex-pat showcases his well-versed talents for jazz with a mix of originals and standards that form a timeless, effortless and scintillating body of work to add to his seasoned career. Since graduating from the prestigious Manhattan School of Music in New York having majored in Classical Piano, slowly but surely the man has paid his dues to become one of the most highly sought after pianist’s and vocalists of his time. Tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton, singer Mark Murphy, esteemed trumpeter Warren Cache, Dale Barlow and James Morrison are just some of the top billing artists Harkins has rubbed shoulders with over the years. More recently he has found a new talent for management as the Musical Director and pianist for the annual Australian tours of American Blues/Jazz vocalist Barbara Morrison, whom he’d previously featured on her biggest selling album ‘Live Down Under’. Harkins was also a member of an ARIA Award winning project, working with Blaine Whittaker Morrison and Andrew Speight’s Quartet, which took out the 1999 ‘Best Jazz Album’ category.



‘Cognition’ see’s Harkins back in his element, behind a grand piano and playing alongside longtime and talented friends. Sadly we don’t get to hear Harkins grace our ears with his vocal talents, yet we are spoiled for choice in terms of hearing the entire rage of the artists instrumental talents. His arrangement of the timeless classic ‘Can’t Help Falling in Love With You’, which is also the album’s opening track, brings a subtle Latin feel into the mix that breaths new life into it’s hallowed history. Continuing this uptempo theme is Harkins‘ interpretation of the Wayne Shorter classic ‘Lester Left Town’ where the artist brings to center stage bassist Brendan Clarke whose phrasing, rhythmic sensitivity and  touch is second to none. Every track manages to find a perfect balance on all fronts, never a note out of place or hit out of time, putting listeners at ease as they settle into a body of work featuring artists that are truly intuitive, highly sensitive and interconnected during the entire process, as any artist would be when making music in the company of friends. The album features Harkins on Piano alongside Brendan Clarke on Bass and Andrew Dickeson on Drums.


  1. ‘Can’t Help Falling In Love With You’ (Peretti, Creatore, Weiss)
    2. ‘Wichita Lineman’ (J. Webb)
    3. ‘Off Minor’ (T. Monk)
    4. ‘Machine Gun Kelly’ (J. Harkins)
    5. ‘Autumn Disposition’ (Harkins, Rosenthal)
    6. ‘The Look of Love’ (David, Bacharach)
    7. ‘Lester Left Town’ (W. Shorter)
    8. ‘I’ll Close My Eyes’ (Reid, Kaye)
    9. ‘Pannonica’ (T. Monk)
    10. ‘From This Moment On’ (C. Porter)


John Harkins – Piano
Brendan Clarke – Bass
Andrew Dickeson – Drums


You can follow John Harkins’ career via http://www.allegromusic.com.au/allegro_artist/john-harkins/. To grab your copy of the album email harkinsmusic@gmail.com.

Be sure to tune in this week to 89.7FM EASTSIDE RADIO for your chance to WIN a copy of ‘Cognition’ by John Harkins.

You must be a supporter to win so make sure to sign up at http://eastsidefm.org/support-us-2/. Don’t forget you can also stream the station at WWW.EASTSIDEFM.ORG.


Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 1.31.44 am

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!