We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalising content and advertising. To learn more, check out our Privacy Policy

Album of the Week – Cassandra Wilson ‘Coming Forth by Day’

‘Coming For by Day’ by Cassandra Wilson is Eastside Radio’s Album of the Week.

Throughout twelve amazing tracks, the two-time Grammy award winner pays tribute to Jazz legend Billie Holiday. The release spans the entire gamut of Holiday’s successful yet tragic career as she paved the way for female jazz vocalists of her time and, as Wilson showcases, presently and in future. The album was produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Arcade Fire, Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs) and features ‘The Bad Seeds’ guitarist T Bone Burnett, drummer Thomas Wydler and bassist Martyn P. Casey, Nick Zinner (Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs) string arrangements by Van Dyke Parks, and long time collaborators Jon Cowherd on piano and Kevin Breit on guitar.

“COMING FORTH BY DAY is an homage dedicated to the beauty, power, and genius of Billie Holiday. A collection of musical spells, prescriptions for navigating the dubious myths surrounding her life and times, this record is a vehicle for the re-emergence of Billie’s songbook in the 21st century.” – Cassandra Wilson

The project was met with some apprehension from the outset as Wilson felt it imperative that the approach be non traditional. Yes it’s true that this is a Jazz record at heart, but it is the swirling storm of influences of blues, rock, pop, soul and world that are surrounding and colliding with tradition that bring these time old classics into the twenty first century. These influences come from the diversity of artists however were cleverly tempered and mastered by Launay, who too questioned his ability to produce such a work commenting that he “just didn’t want this to be an experiment for me and then totally mess up her [Wilson] whole career”.

“We set out to dig deep into the lyrics, and the meaning behind why they were written. The result is a whole new experience for the listener, both those familiar with Cassandra and newcomers. It’s moving and engaging beyond words…this one is for the ears and soul.” – producer Nick Launay


Music Director’s Picks:

Track 8 What A Little Moonlight Can Do

Track 12 Last Song (For Lester) – This track in particular is a heart-wrenching original penned by Wilson taking inspiration from the tormented relationship between Holiday and saxophonist Lester Young. It showcases a sensitivity and sadness truly befitting the tragedy of their affair.


  1. Don’t Explain
  2. Billie’s Blues
  3. Crazy He Calls Me
  4. You Go To My Head
  5. All Of Me
  6. The Way You Look Tonight
  7. Good Morning Heartache
  8. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
  9. These Foolish Things
  10. Strange Fruit
  11. I’ll Be Seeing You
  12. Last Song (For Lester)

Be sure to tune in throughout the week to hear tracks from the album ‘Coming Forth By Day’ by Cassandra Wilson. You can also grab the album at www.cassandrawilson.com. By signing up to become a supporter of the station during its Radiothon (14th – 20th June 2015) you will also be in the draw to win a copy of the release. To find out more head to www.eastsidefm.org/supportus.

Stay in touch with Cassandra Wilson via FACEBOOK, TWITTER and YOUTUBE.



Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!