The New Thing 02/04/12 Playlist & Albums

Here’s what albums were featured on The New Thing today and which tracks were played!






Lars Danielsson - Liberetto

The last release by Lars Danielsson on ACT was back in 2009, and Liberetto sees him team up with Armenian pianist Tigran. The two only performed together for the first time a week before this album was recorded! Eastern caravan influences and slight funky blues twinges shimmer around this jazz release.

Tracks played on The New Thing:



‘Driven To Daylight’

‘Party On The Planet’






Trombone Shorty – For True

Although this release has been around for a couple of months now, playing it now seemed appropriate as Trombone Shorty is performing at the Basement tomorrow and on Wednesday! Modern jazz with funk, blues and hip hop beats give For True a a cool modern appeal with attitude.

Tracks played on The New Thing:


‘Big 12′


‘Then There Was You’

Independent Track Of The Week

Loop de Loop by Brisbane based vocalist Bec Laughton, featuring Willy from Spacifix.






Michael Kiwanuka – Home Again

Michael Kiwanuka is the man many are claiming is going to bring soul back to the forefront of everyone’s attention. Heralded as the successor to Otis Redding, the young man from North London has heavy expectations on his shoulders already, and Home Again is only his debut! There are some truly magical soulful moments on this album, and whilst he’s certainly not legendary yet, Home Again is definitely a step in the right direction.

Tracks played on The New Thing:

‘Tell Me A Tale’


‘Home Again’

‘Worry Walks Beside Me’

A Track From Eastside Radio’s Album Of The Week

‘Hanoi Horses’ by Kim Sinh & Dom Turner from the album Two Days in Hanoi.






The Black Seeds – Dust And Dirt

New Zealand based group The Black Seeds are set to drop their new album Dust And Dirt in the next couple of weeks. The album features a reggae funk fusion, with the occasional stray into dub and grooving psychadelia.

Tracks played on The New Thing:

‘Love Me Now’

‘Settle Down’

‘Gabriel’s Strut Dub’

‘Loose Cartilage’

And the final track on The New Thing today was from Eastside’s Live 505 artists the Java Quartet. The track was ‘Only You’, and if you dug it, make sure you get down to Eastside Live at 505 next Thursday!

Be sure to tune in every Monday from 9.00 til 10.30am for your weekly dose of fresh new music!

Sammy Al




Filed Under: Program BlogsTHE NEW THING

  • Follow Eastside Radio


    • Louise Isackson - Red To Blue


      Buy Now